Kermit the Frog. Image: http://muppet.wikia.com/wiki/Kermit_the_Frog

Kermit the Frog. Image: muppet.wikia.com

The very little I know about frogs consists of warts, princes, and rainbow connections. What I don’t know is how they may be good for me. However, Peruvians are making the bold statement that a little freshly-squeezed frog can liven up your bedroom and ward off asthma and fatigue.

Known more commonly in Peru as extracto de rana, frog juice is gaining momentum. While I haven’t seen it in person, I’ve read that a common juice stand in Peru–one like we have here featuring strawberry, blueberry, and orange juice–may skip the standard and leap straight to the eclectic by featuring frog juice. Fresh frog juice.

According to the Associated Press, to make the juice, one pulls a live frog out of an aquarium, bangs it against a hard surface to kill it, and then peels off the skin.

Flavors are added, and for around $.90, you can down a refreshing class of  extracto de rana.

You can watch a video of the process here, but I have to warn–it’s not for the faint at heart.

